Home » » Superfast Mail/Express trains

Superfast Mail/Express trains

Superfast Mail/Express trains :

Superfast Mail/Express trains are express rail services of the Indian railways. They make few stops, unlike other Mail/Express trains, achieving somewhat shorter journey times. Tickets cost more than Mail/Express rates. As of 2015 450 pairs of Superfast trains ran on the Indian Railways. The 12155/12156 Habibganj(Bhopal) - Hazrat Nizamuddin(Delhi) Shan - E - Bhopal Express is the fastest non-Shatabdi, non-Rajdhani Mail/Express train in India.

In some cases, trains run Superfast where there is an overlapping Mail/Express service available, and run regular Mail/Express trains where there is no supplementary Mail/Express service.

Trains with an average speed, excluding halts, equalling or exceeding 55 kilometres per hour (34 mph) (60 kilometres per hour (37 mph) until the early 1990s) on both up and down journeys fall into the Superfast category and are numbered with a prefix of 12 (previously 2). Including halts (both revenue and scheduled technical halts) the average speed often is below 55km/h.

Increased stops for political reasons led to a significant reduction in average speed of many trains, despite improvements in track and haulage.

Superfast trains have been Superfast since their inauguration and have not deteriorated till now. These Superfast services maintain an average speed throughout their route and often have the best Rake/Loco Combination. Some of the Daily Superfast services are as follows:

The GrandTrunk(GT) Express
Kerala Express
Thiruvananthapuram Mail
Chennai Thiruvananthapuram Superfast Express
Tamil Nadu Express
Bihar Sampark Kranti Superfast Express
Mangala Lakshadweep Express
Shiv Ganga Express
Punjab Mail
Malwa Express
Gorakhdham Express
Shaan-e-Bhopal Express
Shan-e-Punjab Express
Swatantra Sainani Superfast Express
Uttar Sampark Kranti Express
Magadh Express
Prayagraj Express
Purushottam Express
Lucknow Mail
Mahakoshal Express
Pandian Express
Nellai Express
Kanyakumari Express
Cheran Express
Yercaud Express
Nilgiri Express
Pearl City Express
Bangalore Mail
Mangalore Mail
Mangalore SF Express
West Coast Express
Alleppey Express
Palani Express
Navjivan Express
Sanghamithra Express
Indore - Nagpur Express
Indore - Mumbai Central Express
Bhopal - Rewa Rewanchal Express
Hazrat Nizamuddin - Jabalpur Express
Dayodaya Express
Mewar Express
Golden Temple Mail
Sewagram Express
Saraighat Express
Jaipur Superfast Express
Swaraj Express
Vaishali Express
Prayagraj Express
Andhra Pradesh Express
Godavari Express
Goutami Express
Simhapuri Express
Narayanadri Express
Venkatadri Express
Paschim Express
Sachkhand Express
Dakshin Express
Manikarnika Express
Matsyagandha Express
Charminar Express
Chennai-Hyderabad Superfast Express
Bangalore-Kacheguda Superfast Express
Rajendranagar Express
Karnataka Express
Goa Express
Howrah Chennai Mail
Howrah Mumbai Mail
Hussainsagar Express
Dadar Chennai Egmore Express
Coromandal Express
Kalka Mail
Poorva Express
Shramjeevi Superfast Express
Shridham Express
Mahabodhi express
Jnaneshwari Express
Gitanjali Express
Falaknuma Express
Azad Hind Express
Howrah-Yesvantpur Superfast Express
Share this article :


Post a Comment

Support : Mana Illu | Recipe Table | LLM Projects
Copyright © 2013-15. AP Heritage - All Rights Reserved
Template Created by Creating Website Published by Mas Template
Proudly powered by Blogger